National Level Sanskrit Competition

Sanskrit, a great divine language of Indian tradition, posses the ultimate source of knowledge and consequently the prosperity and all-round development of society, country and all living beings.

In modern era too, with the study and awareness of Sanskrit literature it is obviously proved that many recent investigations and researched scientific projects have the root in Indian Sanskrit literature.

Nowadays, many events are promoted by various institutions for the preservation and propagation of this valuable Sanskrit literature. Rastriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi, a deemed university under the Human resources development department of central Government arranges the National Level Sanskrit competitions for the higher study Sanskrit students since last fifty years. National level competition held in the various states respectively every year. In year 2000 it was arranged in Gujarat at SGVP. This year 2011 too, SGVP in Gujarat selected for the National Level Sanskrit Competitions and event was held during 26-28 November, 2011.

Event was inaugurated in the holy presence of Sadguruvarya Shastri Shree Madhavpriyadasji Swami, Sadguru Purani Swami Shree Bhaktiprakashdasji Swami, Sadguru Purani Shree Balkrishnadasji Swami and Dr. Radhavallabh Tripathi (Chancellor, Rastriya Sanskrit Sansthan, New Delhi), Shree Ramkaran Sharmaji (profound erudite of Sanskrit literature and President of International Sanskrit Vidya Samavay), Dr. Subbarayudu (RSS, New Delhi), Shree Harshadbhai Trivedi (Sanskrit Sahitya Academy, Ghandhinagar), Dr. Rajendrabhai Nanavati (RSS, New Delhi) and other learned personalities.

From the 23 states of India over 200 Sanskrit students participated in these competitions. Nearly fifty Sanskrit scholars were invited across the country as judges. There were six kinds of competitions. 1) Elocution (oral presentation and question-answers), 2) Shalaka (thorough & thoughtful study of scriptures including by heart of entire scripture, question-answers, explanations & discussions) 3) Kanth-Path (By heart), 4) Shastra-Arth Vichar (presentation of various views from different scriptures on given topics), 5) Samasya-Purti (to make a meaningful shlok from given only one forth part), 6) Antyakshri

Elocution competitions included eight topics viz., Mimansa, Sahitya, Jyotish, Nyay, Vedant, Sankhya-yog, Dharma Shastra and Vyakaran. In this competition Sadhu Munivatsaldas (Gold medal in Mimansa), Joshi Hardik (Gold medal in Sahitya), Pandya Ajay (Gold medal in Jyotish), Trivedi Bhagirath (Silver medal in Nyay), Joshi Chintan (Bronze medal in Vedant), Raval Ankit (Bronze medal in Sankhya-Yog), Joshi Dharam (Bronze in Dharma Shastra) secured the medals as representatives of Gujarat state. All these students are from the Darshanam Sanskrit Mahavidyalay, SGVP.

Shalaka competitions were arranged for seven scriptures viz. Sahitya, Vyakaran, Nyay, Jyotish, Vedant, Puran-Itihas and Mimansa. Jani Swastik (Bronze in Nyay, Darshanam, SGVP), Bhatt Jay (Bronze in Puran Itihas, Shree Vartantu Mahavidyalay, Sola Ahmadabad) secured the positions from Gujarat.

Kanth-Patha competition was held for four topics viz. Kavya, Amar-kosh, Ashtadhyayi and Dhatu-rup. Jani Mayur (Silver medal in Amar-kosh, Shree Vartantu Mahavidyalay, Sola, Ahmadabad) and Shilu Gautam (Bronze medal in Dhatu-Rup, Shree Babadeshwar Mahavidyalay, Porbandar) represented the Gujarat.

In Shastra-Arth Vichar Shilu Bharatbhai (Gold medal, Shree Somnath Vishwavidyalay, Veraval) and N Vaidya Subrahmaniyam (Silver Medal, from DSM, SGVP) secured the foremost positions.

With the highest points, state of Karnataka won the first position and secured the Vijay-Vaijayani trophy. Gujarat stood second and Rajsthan acquired the third position.

All medal winners encouraged with Gold, Silver, Bronze medals and cash prizes. Seven first position winners of Shalaka competitions awarded with golden Shalaka (small stick) by Dhrshanam Sanskrit Mahavidyalay, SGVP

About 45 female candidates also participated in these national Sanskrit competitions. SGVP awarded all female winners with additional cash prizes of Rs. One thousand.

In the closing ceremony, Chancellor Dr. Radhavallabh Tripathi pronounced that the chief objective of this competition is to preserve the traditional literature and scriptures. It also develops the potentials and intellectual power of students.

Sadguruvarya Shastri Shree Madhavpriyadasji Swami said that it is the responsibility of Sanskrit family to propagate Sanskrit in remaining world and it requires collective hard work of all Sanskrit fans. It is necessary to get awareness and revered towards Sanskrit. In the study and implement of scriptures it is essential to combine ancient traditions and modern techniques.

The closing ceremony on 28 November, 2011 was graced the elder saints along with Chancellor Dr. Radhavallabh Tripathi, Dr. Subbarayudu, Shree Pankajbhai Jani (Somnath Sanskrit Uni., Veraval), Shree Vasantbhai Bhatt (Sanskrit Academy, Gujarat), Dr. Gautambhai Patel, Dr. Manibhai Prajapati (Sanskrit Scholar, Gujarat), Shastri Shree Narendrabhai (Somnath Sanskrit Uni., Veraval) and other dignitaries. Medals, Awards and prizes were distributed to all winners from the holy hands of Pujya Swamiji and Chancellor Dr. Tripathi.

Chancellor Dr. Tripathi and convener Shree Venktesh Za thanked for the awesome hospitality provided by SGVP. They honored all volunteers for the same.

Photo Gallery



Add new comment

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.